The World’s Fastest Woman

Elaine Thompson Olympic gold

Winning Olympic gold last night in the 200m cemented Jamaica’s Elaine Thompson as the fastest woman in the world and completes her sprint double in Rio.

The Jamaican held off the challenge from pre-race favourite Dafne Schippers, who loomed but never delivered, to take gold in 21.78 sec, the fastest time in the world this year.

Silver was no consolation to Dafne Schippers who’s pre-tournament preparation has been hindered by a leg problem.

dafneschippers

“I came for gold,” Schippers said. “I was in good form. My times were OK but they were not strong enough. It’s heavy to run six races. I was getting closer and closer. I felt I was nearly passing her, but then I broke down as well. I’m not happy with the silver.”

elaine-thompson-dafne-schippers

‘I let my light shine tonight,’ says Thompson after winning in 21.78 sec.

Her 100m winning time of 10.71s was just one hundredth of a second off her personal best 10.70s a Jamaican National Record and faster than Schippers PB and Netherlands National Record of 10.81s.

One thought on “The World’s Fastest Woman

Leave a comment